Frantic Packing – The Only Kind

A backpack and luggage set

Whenever I’m packing for a trip I am simultaneously worried that I have packed both too much and too little. In my suitcase, I have about enough for a week’s worth of clothes plus a suit and formal attire yet my checked luggage seems to be bursting at the seams. Part of me worries that I will be unable to bring everything back.  However, I have to keep in mind, about one third to one half of the big suitcase is gifts and there are are two families for whom I am bringing presents.

The first is my host family.  A few weeks ago I was sent six sentences about them and that is all I know. That being said, I decided to give some gifts everybody can appreciate: Jiff peanut butter, Ghirardelli chocolate, a book of Milwaukee in photos, Jelly Bellies, and some other miscellaneous specialties of America/the Midwest.

The second family is that of a foreign exchange student we hosted a few years ago. They live close to Avignon but she is studying in Marseilles.  Because I don’t know when I will see them, and Susie might read this, I’m going to hold off saying what I got for them.

Tomorrow I will finally stop telling people that I’m going to France and will actually be going to France.  My next post will be from France!

One thought on “Frantic Packing – The Only Kind

Leave a Reply

